JSWP Orientation: Argumentation

$0.00

This orientation will give you a peek into teaching argumentative writing in English language arts, science, and social science classes using the Jane Schaffer® method. You will be introduced to the elements of argumentation, including 1) concession, counterargument, refutation; 2) audience, purpose, and occasion; and 3) Aristotle’s ethos, logos, and pathos, artistic proofs, which help students to understand and develop their position in any content area writing. The Jane Schaffer® method of writing has proven to increase writing and thinking skills within all levels of student writers.

Subject Area Participants: Advanced Academics, English Language Arts and Reading, International Baccalaureate, Science, Social Studies and the Social Sciences

Grade Level(s): 6-12

Date: December 7, 2021

Time(s): Two opportunities

  • 1:45 – 3:15 P.M. or 3:45 – 5:15 P.M. (PDT)
  • 2:45 – 4:15 P.M. or 4:45 – 6:15 P.M. (MDT)
  • 3:45 – 5:15 P.M. or 5:45 – 7:15 P.M. (CDT)
  • 4:45 – 6:15 P.M. or 6:45 – 8:15 P.M. (EDT)

Location: Online; Live; Synchronous

Deadline to Register: November 30, 2021

Price: Complimentary

Participant : 1