Personal and Fictional Narrative

$199.95

Learn a foundational approach to teaching narrative writing in the English language arts classroom as well as in the classrooms for English learners. Teachers will learn specific Jane Schaffer® terminology, color-coding, chunking techniques, and ratios, all of which work together to produce thoughtful writing, even in the early grades. Following the Jane Schaffer Writing® methodology, learn how to teach young writers how to recount and describe personal events and express the feelings they experienced.

Personal narrative writing is the segue to fictional narrative writing, which students especially enjoy. For the fictional narrative, participants will learn the JSWP approach to teaching students how to develop characters, setting, point of view, conflict and resolution. They will learn to apply narrative techniques, such as dialogue and sequencing of events, to develop tone and to draw the reader into the story. This organized system of writing will change forever the way your students think and write.

Subject Area Participants: English Language Arts and Reading, English Language Learners, Learning Support

Grade Level(s): K-5

Date(s): August 9-12, 2021

Time:

  • 8:00 – 10:00 A.M. (PDT)
  • 9:00 – 11:00 A.M. (MDT)
  • 10:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. (CDT)
  • 11:00 A.M. – 1:00 P.M. (EDT)

Location: Online; Live; Synchronous; Series

Deadline to Register: July 26, 2021

Late Registration Deadline (+$50): August 2, 2021

Price: $199.95

Credit Cards, Purchase Orders, Business Checks Accepted.

Participant : 1